My Top 10 Movies of 2020

Adrian Todd Zuniga
5 min readJan 4, 2021

At the end of 2019 I decided to do two things:

1. keep track of every film I saw in 2020.
2. make a point of watching older films.

The pandemic + lockdown + the lack of new releases added up to make #2 way, way easier. Of the 122 films I watched, only 19 were released in 2020 (Now for my shameful, noteworthy admission: before 2020, I had seen LESS THAN 20 films released before 1975. I KNOW.)

With all that in mind, here are the 10 best movies I saw in 2020:

#10. PALM SPRINGS (2020)

The only 2020 movie in my top 10. It’s inventive, hilarious, surprising. It’s sweet, emotional, and short (90 minutes). A Groundhog’s Day for a new generation.

#9. HIGH FLYING BIRD (2019)

An astonishingly-written sports film from super-scribe Tarell Alvin McCraney. I put off seeing this for no good reason, and was blown away by nearly every sentence. Plus, it features one of…

--

--

Adrian Todd Zuniga

is an award-nominated author (Collision Theory), award-winning director/screenwriter (HOLD ME, DON'T TOUCH ME) and the creator and host of Literary Death Match.